My Blog

Happy New Year, and I hope you’ve now had a chance to watch my New Year’s Eve message on social media. I outlined what Labour has achieved since I was elected leader last September. We’ve forced this Tory Government into U-Turns over Tax Credits, Police Cuts and plans to run the Saudi prison system. What’s more, I promised this year we’ll attack Austerity head on, preparing for a Labour Government to be elected in 2020. One thing I left out, though, and it’s something I should actually have said last September: I hereby resign as Leader of the Labour Party.

* * * * * * * *

Let me explain. I haven’t surrendered to those defeatist voices within our Party – including those who dominated and controlled it for 20 years – that we can never win unless we compromise again and again until we’ve jettisoned everything that made…

View original post 703 more words

